What is the Chinese New Year animal for 2022 – and what does it mean for you? – World News

The Chinese New Year begins today and will be greeted with celebrations across the world.

The festival – also known in Asian countries as Lunar New Year or Spring Festival – marks the first new moon in the lunar calendar and will be celebrated for the next 15 days.

The Chinese year begins on February 1, 2022 and will continue until January 21, 2023. As tradition dictates, each year is assigned an animal zodiac sign and one of the five elements among gold, wood, water, earth and fire.

So what is the Chinese animal for 2022 and what does it mean for you?

What is the Chinese New Year animal for 2022?

The 2022 Chinese zodiac animal is the Tiger and its element is Water. A Water Tiger year only occurs once every 60 years and tradition says it will bring good luck to anyone born under this sign.

The previous years of the Tiger were 2010, 1998, 1986, 1974, 1962 – which was the last year of the Water Tiger – 1950 and 1938. The next year of the Water Tiger will not begin until January 29, 2082.

The next Year of the Tiger is scheduled for 2034 when the elemental sign will be wood.

Lucky numbers for Tigers are 0, 1, 3, 4 and 5, while 6, 7 and 8 are best avoided, according to tradition.

It is said that those born in the year of the tiger are the luckiest in the spring and their lucky flowers are the cineraria.

Gray, white, blue, purple, orange, and black are the Tigers’ luckiest colors, but gold, silver, brown, and pink should be avoided.

What are the Chinese zodiac animals in order?

The Chinese zodiac has listed 2022 as the Year of the Tiger.


Tim Griffith/LAVA)

The Chinese zodiac is based on the lunar calendar and has a recurring cycle of 12 years. The Chinese calendar differs from the Gregorian calendar because it is based on the movements of the moon – and rather than dividing time into months, it calculates it in 12-year cycles.

Each year an animal is assigned, with each creature having particular personality traits that the ancient Chinese believed would manifest in people born under their special sign.

The order of animals is Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, Pig.

Rats are said to be quick-witted and resourceful, while oxen are reliable and strong.

Tigers are brave, confident and competitive, Rabbits are calm, elegant and responsible, and those born in the year of the Dragon are said to be confident, intelligent and enthusiastic.

Tigers are said to be confident and brave


Getty Images/Ikon Images)

If you were born under the sign of the Serpent, you are considered enigmatic and wise, whereas if you were born in a Horse year, you could be described as lively and energetic.

Goats are said to be calm and friendly, monkeys are lively and curious, while roosters are hardworking and courageous.

Dogs are seen as lovable, honest, and cautious, while Pigs are described as compassionate and diligent.

What is the Heavenly Gate Race?

12 animals make up the Chinese zodiac, based on a fable

The zodiac is inspired by the ancient fable of the Heavenly Gate Race, in which the Jade Emperor held a contest to determine which 12 animals would be his personal guard. Animals were told that the sooner they passed through the Heavenly Gate, the better their rank would be.

Rat was the first out of the grid, rising early to beat the others, but stopped when he found a fast-flowing river. He waited for Ox to arrive at the bank and jumped at him, taking safe passage until the Ox arrived at the palace and then jumping to get to the Emperor’s feet first. Rat won the race and Ox finished second.

Tiger came in third swimming across the river, with Rabbit coming out. They were joined in order by Dragon and Serpent, then Horse and Goat. Monkey was ranked ninth, followed by Rooster, Dog and Pig last.

What does the Year of the Tiger mean to me?

Water Tigers are known to be confident and curious with high self-esteem

The tiger is hailed as the king of all beasts in Chinese folklore and those born under the auspicious sign are said to be brave, unpredictable, competitive and strong willed. They can also be very confident, yet cruel, energetic, and sometimes terrifying.

Tigers are natural leaders and have a strong sense of justice, standing up for the things they believe in, according to tradition.

Water Tigers are known to be confident and inquisitive with high self-esteem and high learning potential.

The Metal Tigers – born in 1950 and 2010 – are described as active, ambitious and caring, as well as freedom-loving.

The Earth Tigers (1938, 1998) are known to be hardworking and practical.

Fire Tigers, born in 1926 and 1986, are best described as optimistic, independent, and courageous.

Wood Tigers, or those born in 1914 and 1974, are fair, sympathetic, and willing to help those who are weaker than them, but quick to reject instructions from others.

What happens on Chinese New Year?

It is considered lucky to buy something red for Chinese New Year celebrations


Light Rocket via Getty Images)

Unlike the Western calendar, the New Year is actually celebrated with two full weeks of festivities as people in Asian countries visit friends and family, attend religious ceremonies and mark this special time with dances and celebrations. fireworks.

It begins with the first new moon in the lunar calendar and ends 15 days later with the first full moon.

The last day of the Lantern Festival celebrations, where lanterns are launched into the sky, and families eat traditional foods that symbolize unity and prosperity.

Traditions include cleaning the house completely before the New Year to eliminate any bad luck, and giving family and friends red envelopes called I see that contain money.

Are you celebrating Chinese New Year today? Let us know in the comments below.

Comments are closed.